Scholars, Teaching Excellence, & Winners

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Scholarsh Program has announced the 2014-15 scholarship recipients. This year 38 ASME student members will receive nearly $150,000 funded by the ASME Foundation. At least seven of the scholars are Tau Beta Pi members. They are: (See the full list)

1. Jamie A. Nagode – (CT G 2015) Kenneth Andrew Roe Scholar and TBP Chapter President
2. Michael Sebok – (NJ Z 2016) Garland Duncan Scholarship
3. Nicholas D. True – (TN Z 2014) Willis F. Thompson Scholarship
4. Jan Kolmas – (CT A 2014) Bruce Heim Scholarship
5. William B. Carlisle – (AR A 2015) Stephen T. Kugle Scholarship
6. Marcus J. Bracey – (OH M 2016) John & Elsa Gracik Scholarship
7. John Jasa – (NE A 2015) Frank & Dorothy Miller Scholarship


In August, Hazem N. Nounou, Ph.D. (TX D ’95), received the Texas A&M University Association of Former Students College-level Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching. “The award is considered one of the most prestigious awards presented to faculty or staff members of Texas A&M University.”

Dr. Nounou was presented the award by dean and CEO of Texas A&M at Qatar, Mark H. Weichold, Ph.D., P.E. (TX D ’78), who said, “This award is a testimony to your commitment to the highest standards of excellence, the importance you place on forming relationships with students and your dedication to their success.” Dr. Nounou is a professor of engineering at Texas A&M at Qatar. Click here to read the news announcement


Earlier this year, during the 10th annual University of Houston Engineering Alumni Association (UH EAA) reception and program an engineered version of a popular TV game show was performed by EAA EWeek Committee Members and UH (Texas Epsilon) Tau Beta Pi students. This year the game show was Engineering Jeopardy. Whitmire Vo, TX E 2014, was the winning contestant of the Jeopardy game. An image of her receiving the winner’s prize is below.

University of Houston Jeopardy winner
Whitmire Vo is the second from the right.

Each year the UH EAA takes place during Engineers Week (EWeek). This year, an all time high of about $61,000 was awarded to 68 UH engineering students and eight student organizations by sponsors. The 10-year total cash awards are very near a third of a million dollar mark at $329,000 awarded to 448 UH engineering students and 36 organizations. See the photo stream for more images from the 2014 UH EAA EWeek Reception and Program


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s