Recognitions, January 2015

MIT has announced that Mildred S. Dresselhaus, Ph.D. (SC G ’51), is the recipient of the IEEE 2015 Medal of Honor — IEEE’s highest honor, given since 1917. Cited for her “leadership and contributions across many fields of science and engineering,” Dresselhaus is also the first woman to earn the prestigious award.

Dr. Dresselhaus is a professor emeritus at MIT, received the National Medal of Science (1990) in recognition of her work on the electronic properties of materials, and in 2014 was awarded the National Medal of Freedom. Read the article form more biographical details.


Forbes recently published its fourth annual 30 Under 30 list “of the brightest stars in 15 different fields under the age of 30.” Two Tau Bates were recognized in the Science category. They are:

Satoru Emori, Ph.D. – (CA T ’08) postdoctoral research associate at Northeastern University “developing new ways to control magnetism with electricity.”
Charles E. Sing, Ph.D. – (OH A ’08) assistant professor at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign “using computational and theoretical tools to study the physics of polymers.”


The IEEE Founders Medal (2015) has been awarded to James D. Plummer, Ph.D. (CA E ’66), “for leadership in the creation and support of innovative, interdisciplinary, and globally focused education and research programs.” Dr. Plummer is a member of the Stanford University electrical engineering faculty and former Dean of the School of Engineering. Click here for the full list of 2015 IEEE Medals and recognitions recipients and citations.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s