Scholars, Innovators, & Inductees, April 2015

The deadline to have your Tau Beta Pi Scholarship application postmarked is one week away. Friday, May 1, is the deadline to have your application postmarked and mailed to TBP Headquarters. This will be the 17th Annual class of TBP Scholars. The Fellowship Board is expected to award approximately 250 scholarships this year. Read the 2015-16 Scholarship Information sheet for more details


The Chronicle of Higher Education recently announced its Tech Innovators of 2015; “eight men and women who are helping to drive change through education technology.” Maria M. Klawe, Ph.D. (CA W ’73), was one of the recognized innovators. Dr. Klawe is president of Harvey Mudd College and “has made it her mission to attract women to computer science.”

Read the article for an in-depth look at her work as a computer scientist, college president, former dean of engineering at Princeton University, and mentor.


Earlier this month, eight professionals were inducted into the Missouri S&T Academy of Civil Engineers at an induction ceremony and dinner on April 16. “The academy recognizes outstanding alumni for their professional achievement and success, and provides organized assistance to the civil engineering department at Missouri S&T.” Two members of the new class of inductees are Tau Bates:

Allen G. Minks – (MO B ’81) geotechnical department manager for Terracon Consultants Inc. (MO)
Dave J. Wisch – (MO B ’75) fellow at Chevron Corp. (TX)


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s