Engineering Honors: Inventors & Academia (May 2015)

The National Inventors Hall of Fame will welcome 14 new Inductees on May 12, 2015. Visit the website to find out how each of these U.S. patent holders has made an impact on society. Two members of the 2015 Class of Inductees have ties to Tau Beta Pi. They are:

Edith Clarke (1949 Tau Beta Pi Women’s Badge & first woman to join TBP as an eminent engineer) her patent was issued in 1925 and she invented a graphical calculator. She was also a pioneer and “first in her endeavors” as the first full-time female professor of electrical engineering in the U.S. at the University of Texas at Austin.

Kristina M. Johnson, Ph.D. (NC G ’81), her patent was issued in 1992 for ferroelectric liquid crystal tunable filters and color generation. She is “recognized as a pioneer in optoelectronic processing systems, 3D imaging, and color management systems.” She joined TBP while at Duke University as an eminent engineer.


Pramod K. Varshney, Ph.D. (IL A ’72), was the plenary speaker at the 40th IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP) earlier this year. Dr. Varshney is currently a Distinguished Professor of electrical engineering and computer science and the Director of the Center for Advanced Systems and Engineering at Syracuse University. He has been at Syracuse since 1976.

Click here for the news article, which provides the abstract from his presentation entitled “Noise-Enhanced Information Systems Denoising Noisy Signals with Noise.” ICASSP is the world’s largest and most comprehensive technical conference focused on signal processing and its applications.


The University of Wyoming recently announced its top faculty awards. See the full list. Adjunct Professor of chemical & petroleum engineering Jack F. Evers, Ph.D. (CO A ’60), received the Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award for the College of Engineering and Applied Science. The College also awarded the “Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Staff Award” from the Wyoming Alpha Chapter of Tau Beta Pi. Finally, the Alumnus Eminent Engineer award went to David L. Whitman, WY A ’75, professor of engineering education.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s