Co-Op of the Year, Outstanding Graduate, & Scholarship Recipient

Hailey L. Sullivan, OH L 2017, has been named the inaugural recipient of the Co-Op of the Year Award at Youngstown State University. Sullivan is a junior chemical engineering major and particiapted in a co-op at ABB, a global leader in power and automation technologies, as a proposal engineering for eight months earlier this year. “They actually gave me a lot of responsibility and freedom, so I worked on larger control system upgrades, and I was able to run risk-review meetings,” Sullivan said.

Click here to read more about her co-op and her future plans, which include pursuing a master’s degree in engineering while working after graduation.


Later this week, the New Mexico State University (NMSU) Alumni Association will honor the fall 2015 Outstanding Graduate Award recipients. This award is one of the top honors for an NMSU student. Joe S. Graff, NM A 2016, is one of this year’s Outstanding Graduates and is earning his bachelor’s degrees in aerospace and mechanical engineering. Graff spent the past year as president of the New Mexico Alpha Chapter of Tau Beta Pi and is also involved in numerous other community outreach and service activities. Read the news article for more information.


The University of Florida has announced that Shannon B. Brown, FL A ’14, has been awarded the Thomas O. Hunter Leadership Scholarship by the Engineering Leadership Institute. Brown is currently a second year Ph.D. student developing nanoparticles for drug delivery to diseased joints. The article details her involvement with the Florida Alpha Chapter of Tau Beta Pi on campus.

“In 2012, Shannon joined Tau Beta Pi and has served as an officer every semester since her induction, accruing experience through six different officer positions including vice president. Of the chapter’s membership, Shannon is the longest-standing active member and, despite having started her Ph.D. program, still actively participates in the programs and community service organized by the society. The national organization and university chapter have acknowledged her service and leadership through a national scholarship and three chapter awards.”


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s