On Campus: Tenure Track Opening, Dean Returns to Faculty, & Mater Sci Chair

Applicants are encouraged to apply for a tenure track faculty opening in mining and explosives engineering with an appointment at the assistant or associate professor level to start Fall 2016 at Missouri University of Science and Technology.

“The successful applicant will have an earned doctoral degree in a physical science or engineering field (engineering is preferred) with a proven background in explosives related research, in order to play a key role in developing the relatively new Explosives Engineering MS/PhD program. Preference will be given to candidates who have mining and/or rock mechanics experience in addition to explosives.” Read the full job description.


In February, Washington State University (WSU) Dean of the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture announced that she will be returning to her faculty position at the end of the current term, which is August 16, 2016. Candis S. Claiborn, Ph.D. (ID A ’79), has served as WSU Dean for ten years.

Dr. Claiborn’s bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering was earned at the University of Idaho and her Ph.D., also in chemical engineering, was attained at North Carolina State University. Before joining WSU, she worked in industry as a process engineer. Click here to read the announcement of her decision to step down as Dean.


Missouri University of Science and Technology has named Matthew J. O’Keefe, Ph.D. (MO B ’85), as the chair of the material science and engineering department at Missouri S&T. Dr. O’Keefe is also professor of materials science and engineering and director of the Materials Research Center at Missouri S&T. His new appointment is effective March 1, 2016.

He joined the Missouri S&T faculty in 1999 and is an alumnus earning his bachelor’s degree in metallurgical engineering. According to the news article, Dr. O’Keefe is the co-author on more than 60 peer-reviewed articles, has received eight faculty excellence awards, three campus outstanding teaching awards, and two Metallurgy Professor of the Year awards.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s