New Dean, Service Award, & ASEE Board (April 2016)

According to a news release, Cem Karacal, Ph.D. (OK G ’89), has been recommended as the new dean of the Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE) School of Engineering. Dr. Karacal has served as interim dean since December 2015 and previously served as an engineering professor and associate dean.

Dr. Karacal will replace Hasan Sevim, Ph.D. (IL E ’74), who recently retired after serving as dean for 10 years. Dr. Karacal is the principal investigator in a NSF Foundation STEP grant to “improve engineering graduation rates at SIUE via a holistic approach that includes mathematics enrichment sessions, mentoring, tutoring and student engagement.”


The Northwestern University McCormick School of Engineering has announced that assistant dean for graduate studies Bruce Lindvall, Ph.D., will receive the Penny Warren Honorary Service Award from Northwestern’s Black Graduate Student Association “for his efforts in increasing diversity and improving academic life for students of color at Northwestern.” Dr. Lindvall is committed to recruiting a diverse populations of graduate students and over the past nine years he has worked to increase the number of underrepresented minority Ph.D. students by 80 percent.

He has been a fixture at the annual Tau Beta Pi Conventions for the past four years. His “Should I Go to Graduate School” professional development session is always widely attended and he has a history of going above and beyond to assist Tau Bate student members in finding the right graduate school. Dr. Lindvall has a bachelor’s degree in mathematics, a master’s in guidance and counseling, and a Ph.D. in educational administration, all from Purdue University.


Seven professionals have been elected to serve on the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) Board of Directors to be led by Bevlee A. Watford, Ph.D. (VA B ’81), president-elect. Dr. Watford is an associate dean for academic affairs and professor of engineering education at Virginia Tech.

She was elected as a Fellow of ASEE in 2010, recently served as First VP, and chaird the Diversity Task Force that resulted in the creation of the ASEE Diversity Strategic Plan. Click here to see the full list of elected board members with accompanying biographies.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s