Byers Scholars, Top Scholar, & Engineering Awards (April 2016)

The 2016 Walter Byers Postgraduate Scholarship Program awarded its male and female recipients earlier this week. The $24,000 grant is awarded to recipients “recognized as combining the best elements of mind and body to achieve national distinction for their achievements and to be future leaders in their chosen field of career service.” Both of this year’s recipients are Tau Beta Pi members. They are:

Mitchell Black, MA D 2016, a senior at Tufts University double majoring in mechanical engineering and astrophysics. He is a two-time Division III indoor champion in the 800-meter run and won the national outdoor title in the 800 last spring. In 2015, he was named a Div. III Track Athlete of the Year by the U.S. Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association. His dream job is to become an astronaut and he has applied to several graduate programs in aeronautics and astronautics.

Katy E. Riojas, OK B 2016, a mechanical engineering senior at the University of Tulsa. She is a four-year member of the varsity soccer team who plans to make a career developing innovative medical device solutions. To that ends, she has founded Make a Difference Engineering, designed hardware and software for a user-centered robotic wheelchair interface, and volunteered at a preschool for children with disabilities. Next, she will pursue a master’s in engineering at the Johns Hopkins Center for Bioengineering Innovation and Design.


Top Ten Scholar Lacie K. Rasley

Boise State University 2016 Top Ten Scholar (center) Lacie K. Rasley, ID G 2016, with her honored faculty (left) Janet M. Callahan, Ph.D. (CT B ’83), and (right) Norma Kindall. Rasley is the ID Gamma Chapter past president and Dr. Callahan is the ID Gamma chief advisor. Click here for more info.


On April 10, the Russ College of Engineering and Technology hosted its annual Tau Beta Pi Engineering Honor Society’s student awards banquet. Associate professor and Chief Advisor to the OH Delta Chapter of Tau Beta Pi Monica M. Burdick, Ph.D. (NY K ’98), said, “This year’s awardees are a tremendously accomplished group. It’s a great honor for the chapter to help the College recognize all these students’ hard work at the banquet.” Read the news article for the full list of honorees.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s