Player of the Year, Academic All-Americans, & Big Ten Medal

At the recent reception for the Women’s College World Series of softball, Kasey M. Cooper, AL A 2018, was named the ELITE 90 award winner. The award is given annually “to an athlete that has achieved the highest cumulative GPA among her peers, while competing at a championship level.” Cooper has a 4.0 GPA while majoring in mechanical engineering and is the first student-athlete from Auburn University to win the award.

Other recent accolades for Cooper, include being named SEC Player of the Year, named first-team All-America by the National Fastball Coaches Association, and being selected as the SEC Scholar Athlete of the Year. Read more about Cooper’s 2016 awards.


Three Tau Bates were recently selected for the 2016 Capital One Academic All-America® Division III baseball teams. Click here for the All-America Division III first, second, and third baseball teams.

John M. DragoMA B 2017, a mechanical engineering major at the MIT and second team All-American; he helped guide the varsity baseball team to its third ECAC Division III New England Championship as the lead-off hitter and second baseman. He maintains a perfect GPA and was the 2014 NEWMAC Rookie of the Year.

Connor A. TaggOH A 2016, senior mechanical engineering major at Case Western Reserve University and second team All-American; he is a relief pitcher for the varsity baseball team, a three-time UAA All-Academic honoree, and was named to the UAA All-Tournament team in 2016.

Bob R. BarnettPA I 2017, majoring in civil engineering at Widener University and third team All-American; he is an outfielder for the varsity baseball team, a two-time All-MAC Commonwealth First Team selection, and led the league in stolen bases in 2016.


Aaron B. Bartnik, MN A ’15, has been named one of the University of Minnesota’s 2015-16 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipients. Bartnik is graduating with both bachelor’s and master’s degrees in electrical engineering. He is a two-time All-Big Ten and two-time NCAA All-Region selection for cross country, earning first-team All-Big Ten honors in 2014 and second-team plaudits in 2015.

He was selected as a team captain and helped lead the Gophers to the NCAA championships for the first time since 2011, after a runner-up finish in regional action. Click here to read the announcement for more biographical details.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s