New Dean, ASM Fellows, & NCAA Woman of the Year (August 2016)

Stephen P. DeWeerth, Ph.D. (GA A ’85), has been named the new dean of Lehigh’s P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science beginning September 1, 2016. Currently, Dr. DeWeerth is associate dean for research & innovation and professor of engineering at the Georgia Tech College of Engineering. Previously, he served as founding chair of the department of biomedical engineering at the Khalifa University of Science, Technology and Research in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

Dr. DeWeerth received his Ph.D. in computation and neural systems and his M.S. in computer science from the California Institute of Technology. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. He is also co-founder and scientific advisor for Axion BioSystems, holds several patents and has published more than 130 peer-reviewed articles. Read the news announcement for more information.


Five Tau Bates were recently selected for the 2016 Class of ASM Fellows. The honor provides “recognition to members for their distinguished contributions to materials science and engineering and to develop a broadly based forum of technical and professional leaders to serve as advisors to the society.” Awards will be presented at ASM’s annual awards dinner, Tuesday, October 25th, in Salt Lake City, UT. The five Tau Bates are:

1. Kathryn A. Dannemann, Ph.D. – (NY G ’80) Principal Engineer, Southwest Research Institute
2. Susan E. Hartfield-Wunsch, Ph.D. – (PA G ’85) Technical Fellow, General Motors
3. Matthew J. O’Keefe, Ph.D. – (MO B ’85) professor & char, Missouri University of Science & Tech.
4. David P. Vallett – (NY N ’82) owner, PeakSource Analytical, LLC
5. Wendelin J. Wright, Ph.D., P.E. – (CA G ’98) association professor, Bucknell University


A total of 517 student-athletes have been nominated for the 2016 Woman of the Year Award. The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors graduating female college athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in academics, athletics, service and leadership. The top 30 honorees will be celebrated and the 2016 NCAA Woman of the Year winner will be announced at the annual award ceremony Oct. 16 in Indianapolis, IN. Several of this year’s nominated student athletes are Tau Bates, including (see full list):

Shelby L. Amsley-Benzie – (ND B 2016) chemical engineering graduate from University of North Dakota and women’s hockey Academic All-American.
Margaret G. Guo – (MA B 2016) electrical engineering graduate from MIT and two-time NCAA All-American swimmer.
Kaitlyn E. Kramer – (NC A 2016) chemical engineering and textile engineering double major at North Carolina State University and All-ACC cross-country runner.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s