Tau Beta Pi Awards: McDonald Mentor, Distinguished Alumni, & Outstanding Advisor (August 2016)

Antonette M. Logar, Ph.D., (SD A ’78), has been selected as the 2016 Tau Beta Pi McDonald Mentor. Dr. Logar is a professor in the math and computer science department at the South Dakota School of Mines & Technology, and an advisor to the South Dakota Alpha Chapter of Tau Beta Pi. She will be recognized at the annual Tau Beta Pi Convention on October 7, in San Diego, California. Click here to read the press release for more information


On the 20th year of Tau Beta Pi’s Distinguished Alumnus program, three alumni have been selected as the 2016 recipients. Read the press release. They are:

Nancy “Jan” Davis, Ph.D.. P.E. – (AL A ’77) vice president & deputy general manager of Jacobs Engineering and Science Services and Skills Augmentation Group at the NASA Marshall Space Flight Center
Eugene M. DeLoatch, Ph.D. – (DC A ’59) founding dean of the Morgan State University School of Engineering
Michael D. Griffin, Ph.D. – (MD B ’77) chairman and CEO of the Schafer Corporation and previously served as Administrator of NASA


The 2016 Tau Beta Pi Outstanding Advisor is Sandra “Sandy” B. Pitzak, CO B ’00. She is owner and spacecraft engineer at Tomorrow’s Enterprise, LLC, and Chief Advisor to the Colorado Beta Chapter. She has more than 20 years of dedicated service to Tau Beta Pi. For more details, read the press release.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s