Newman Fellowship, ASEE President’s Award, & Faculty Honors (May 2017)

Ashle M. Page, NC A 2017, has been selected as the first student from North Carolina State University to receive a Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellowship. “The national Fellowship is a one-year experience for students in which Fellows have access to in-person and virtual learning opportunities, networking events, and mentoring.” Page is graduating with degrees in chemical engineering and polymer and color chemistry.

According to the news article, she has been active in several campus organizations and has been an intern and fellow at NASA’s Langley Research Center. She has also served as lead ambassador for the Institute for Emerging Issues at NC State. The program “hopes that presenting information to young people in an interactive way will plant a seed to encourage them to tackle the problems in their communities.”


On June 26 at the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) annual conference, the University of Southern California Viterbi School of Engineering will receive the President’s Award, which “recognizes organizations making the best use of media to encourage P-12 students to enter engineering schools and purse engineering careers/ and or influence public opinion and create recognition of the critical role that engineering plays in today’s technology-driven society.”

The award will be accepted by USC engineering dean Yannis C. Yortsos, Ph.D. (CA D ’73). Read the press release for details on Dr. Yortsos’ presentation at the White House regarding the ASEE’s Dean Diversity Pledge.


Clarkson University (NY) has announced that five faculty members were honored at a recognition ceremony “for their excellence in the classroom and dedication to mentoring.” Thomas M. Holsen, Ph.D. (NY Q ’85), is the recipient of the Outstanding Advisor Award. Dr. Holsen is a distinguished professor in engineering and serves as an advisor to the NY Theta Chapter of Tau Beta Pi at Clarkson.

In addition, Chen Liu, Ph.D., received the Tau Beta Pi Faculty Award presented by the NY Theta chapter annually “to a faculty member who has embodied and instilled in students the ideals of integrity and excellence in engineering.” Click here to read the announcement for the other faculty honors.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s