Florida Tech Keuper Award, Clarkson Distinguished Lecturer, & Dunking the UWM Dean (Sept. 2018)

Vikram Verma, FL Z ’87, has been named the 2018 Jerome P. Keuper Award winner by Florida Institute of Technology. Verma is CEO of 8×8, Inc., the world’s first communications cloud provider.

According to the article, Verma earned his bachelor’s in electrical engineering from Florida Tech, has eight patents, and a 25+ year executive career with leading technology companies. He is also a 1987 TBP Fellow.


Clarkson University has announced that Purdue University professor Leah H. Jamieson, Ph.D. (IN A ’74), will speak on “Engineering Education Research: The Growth of a Discipline and Lessons (Being) Learned” on Friday, October 19, as part of the New Horizons in Engineering Distinguished Lectureship Series.

Dr. Jamieson is also Dean Emerita of Purdue University having served as Engineering Dean from 2006-17. She also served as the 2007 president and CEO of the IEEE and 2012-17 president of the IEEE Foundation. She has been recognized with the National Academy of Engineering’s Gordon Prize for Innovation in Engineering and Technology Education. Click here to read more about Dr. Jamieson and the abstract for her lecture.


This past week, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee hosted the “Party on the Plaza” welcome back event for students. A highlight of the event was the opportunity to dunk College of Engineering Dean Brett A. Peters, Ph.D. (AR A ’87), in a 500-gallon tub full of water.

The activity was also a contest between student organizations, which was won by the WI Gamma Chapter of Tau Beta Pi. As a result, the student group won a pizza party. Read more


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s