MD Beta Custom Bents, AIChE Scholar, & UW Faculty Accreditation Fellow (Oct. 2018)

The Maryland Beta Chapter at the University of Maryland hosted a “Bent Signing Party” to celebrate the hard work of the new initiates by having everyone create a custom Bent. Several pictures were posted from the event to the chapter’s Facebook and Instagram pages, including the image below:


Sarah K. Desharnais, OK G 2019, was named the first Oklahoma State University (OSU) student to receive the 2018 John J. McKetta Undergraduate Scholarship Award by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE). She also serves as the OK Gamma Chapter president of Tau Beta Pi.

According to the announcement, only one student nationwide is awarded this honor each year.


The University of Wyoming has announced that two members of the faculty have been named Faculty Accreditation Fellows to assist with the University of Wyoming’s Higher Learning Commission reacccrediation project. UW Associate Dean in the College of Engineering and Applied Science Steve F. Barrett, Ph.D., P.E. (CO Z ’79), is one of the fellows.

Dr. Barrett will assist in “organizing UW’s evidence for the report, editing the committee’s overall report and organizing the complexities of the peer review team visit.” His research interests include digital and analog image processing, and he also serves as chief advisor to the WY Alpha Chapter of Tau Beta Pi. Read the article for more information.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s