Tau Bates Named as 2021-22 Goldwater Scholars

The Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation was established by Congress in 1986 to serve as a living memorial to honor the lifetime work of Senator Barry Goldwater, who served for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years in the U.S. Senate.

As the result of a partnership with the Department of Defense National Defense Education Programs (NDEP), Mrs. Peggy Goldwater Clay, Chair of the Board of Trustees of the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation, announced that the Trustees of the Goldwater Board have increased the number of Goldwater scholarships it has awarded for the 2021-2022 academic year to 409 college students from across the United States. “As it is vitally important that the Nation ensures that it has the scientific talent it needs to maintain its global competitiveness and security, we saw partnering with the Goldwater Foundation as a way to help ensure the U.S. is developing this talent,” said Dr. Jagadeesh Pamulapati, Director of the NDEP program, as he explained the partnership. With the 2021 awards, this brings the number of scholarships awarded since 1989 by the Goldwater Foundation to 9456.

From an estimated pool of over 5,000 college sophomores and juniors, 1256 natural science, engineering and mathematics students were nominated by 438 academic institutions to compete for the 2021 Goldwater scholarships. Of students who reported, 198 of the Scholars are men, 206 are women, and virtually all intend to obtain a Ph.D. as their highest degree objective. Fifty-one Scholars are mathematics and computer science majors, 290 are majoring in the natural sciences, and 68 are majoring in engineering. Many of the Scholars have published their research in leading professional journals and have presented their work at professional society conferences.

There were at least 30 Tau Beta Pi members selected as 2021-22 Goldwater Scholars. Click here for the full list of Goldwater Scholars or read on for a list of TBP members who received the award.

Sara E. Binet, GA B ’22, environmental engineering

John D. Boom, NC G 22, biomedical engineering

Brian R. Carrick, MN A 22, chemical engineering

Jacob Connolly, OH K 22, bioengineering

Grace E. Dessert, NC G 22, biomedical engineering

Matthew T. Duggan, SC B 22, computer science

Reese A. Dunne, MS A 22, mechanical engineering

Aanahita T.I. Ervin, OK A 22, chemical engineering

Megan He, CT A 22, environmental engineering

Spencer Jacobs-Skolik, MA E 22, electrical engineering

Alexa S. Jakob, NY I 22, electrical engineering

Anna Janicek, NM B 22, electrical engineering

David Jin, CA B 22, engineering and applied science

Bret K. Lane, OH I 22, mechanical engineering

Brandon F. Lee, MO A 22, chemical engineering

Rachel McGinn, MA D 22, biomedical engineering

Alexander T. Metcalf, NY B 22, aerospace engineering

Maya N. Mysore, CA L 20, biomedical engineering

Shiker S. Nair, MD A 22, biomedical engineering

Nicholas M. Pancheri, ID A 22, biological engineering

Ethan L. Perry, CO A 21, computer science

Joshua D. Slaughter, MD D 22, computer engineering

Ebonye L. Smith, GA B 22, electrical engineering

Collin Thornton, OK G 22, computer engineering

Tegan J. Thurston, OR A 22, bioengineering

Raymond Turrisi, RI B 22, mechanical engineering

Tara K. Venkatadri, MA B 22, aeronautical engineering

Shelby D. Wales, AL A 22, chemical engineering

Cindy Wong, OR A 22, chemical engineering

Cameron C. Young, MA E 22, chemical engineering

Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s