Recognizing Engineers, April 2015

The fourth annual New Faces of Engineering College Edition and DiscoverE has announced 12 recipients that have been recognized as “the nation’s most promising engineering professional of tomorrow. These students exemplify the vision, innovation and leadership skills that form the foundational elements of a successful engineering career. This year’s exceptional group all display a singular commitment to effecting positive change through substantive, real world applications of their skills and training.” Four of the New Faces honorees are Tau Bates. They are: (Read press release)

Kelli M. Alvarado – (TX B 2015) nominated by NSPE; petroleum engineering senior at Texas Tech University
Jennifer A. Kearney – (PA B 2015) nominated by ASCE; civil engineering senior at Pennsylvania State University
Angadbir S. Sabherwal – (IA A 2016) nominated by ASME; mechanical engineering junior at Iowa State University
Ruth A. Williams – (WV A 2015) nominated by SWE; aerospace engineering senior at West Virginia University


At last weekend’s initiation and installation at Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Diane Kewley-Port, Ph.D., was initiated into Tau Beta Pi. Dr. Kewley-Port was previously a women’s badge award winner from the University of Michigan. Tau Beta Pi awarded the Women’s Badge to qualified women until 1969 after which they were offered full membership. Dr. Kewley-Port is Professor Emeritus at Indiana University Bloomington. The image below is of her after initiation with her Bent casting polished and mounted by her father.

Diane Kewley
Newly initiated Diane Kewley (middle with bent) at IUPUI who was previously a Tau Beta Pi women’s badge winner. She is now a lifetime member of Tau Beta Pi.


DiscoverE has announced the 2015 class of 13 New Faces of Engineering honorees. “This year’s exceptional group of young engineers display a singular commitment to effecting positive change through substantive, real world applications of their skills and training.” Two of the honorees are Tau Bates. Click here for the press release and short biographical details on all 13 winners.

Maria M. Gibbs – (NC G 2012) nominated by ASCE; Ph.D student researching bridge aeroelasticity at the University of Notre Dame
Xuanya (Bill) Zhang – (MA A 2013) nominated by IIE; technical consultant Arcadia Healthcare Solutions

Watch this short video to meet all 13 of these amazing professionals and learn how they are innovating solutions in energy, technology, water resources and the environment.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s