TBP Distinguished Alumni, New Dean, & AIAA Award (August 2017)

The 20th group of Tau Beta Pi’s Distinguished Alumnus program has been announced. This year, four alumni have been selected as the 2017 recipients. Read the press release. They are:

Lilia A. Abron, Ph.D., P.E. – (DC A ’68) CEO & founder of PEER Consultants and former assistant professor at Howard University.
Terry D. Olberding – (TN A ’78) management consulting contractor with Eagle Research Group and past nuclear safety specialist for the DOE’s National Security Administration
Tom Scholz – (MA B ’69) co-founder of the band Boston and previously worked as a senior product design engineer at Polaroid Corp.
Charles E. Sukup, P.E. – (IA A ’76) president of Sukup Manufacturing Company and was the first VP at Sukup Manufacturing Co.


Steven W. McLaughlin, Ph.D. (IL G ’85), has been named the new College of Engineering Dean at Georgia Tech. Most recently, Dr. McLaughlin served as chair and professor in the electrical and computer engineering department at Georgia Tech. He will begin his new position on September 15, 2017.

Read the news announcement for more biographical details on Dr. McLaughlin, who earned his bachelor’s degree in engineering from Northwestern University. He has published more than 250 papers, holds 36 patents, and has research interests in communications and information theory.


The 2017 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Air Breathing Propulsion Award recipient is Campbell D. Carter, Ph.D. (TX A ’81). Dr. Carter is an aerospace systems engineer with the Air Force Research Laboratory’s Aerospace Systems Directorate at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (OH). He was selected “for outstanding research on optical diagnostics for high-speed flowfields.”

Click here to read more about Dr. Carter’s work on scramjet combustors. “Cam is an internationally recognized expert in advanced diagnostics and has made lasting contributions to high speed air breathing propulsion technology development. He is highly respected throughout the technical community, as evident by this prestigious award,” said Robert A. Mercier, chief engineer at the High Speed Systems Division.


Leave a Comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s